On This Date June11,1176- the Continental Congress begins a Declaration of Independence

June 11, 1776 – the Continental Congress, meeting in Philadelphia, creates a committee to draft
a Declaration of Independence. Committee members are: Thomas Jefferson (VA), John Adams
(MA), Benjamin Franklin (PA), Roger Sherman (CT) and Robert Livingstone (NY). The majority
of the writing falls to Jefferson.


Jun 11 2023


All Day